Welcome to United States of America (USA)

Web www.toursandtravelsinindia.com

  UNITED STATES OF AMERICA (USA)                                                                                                         Home

Capital: Washington D.C.
Large Cities: New York, Los Angeles, Chicago, Philadelphia, Detroit, Atlanta
Languages: English
Religion: Christianity
Currency: Dollar

Location: The United States of America is a federal republic composed of a federal district (Washington DC) and 50 states, of which all except one-Hawaii islands-are in mainland America.

History: The United States of America, which covers the central part of North America, grew out of the British colonies that were established in North America in the first half of the 17th century. The Declaration of the independence of the 13 states of which the American Union then consisted was adopted by Congress on July 4, 1776.

The victory of the Allies in WW-I made USA a world power. The end of the WW-II saw the emergence of USA as one of the superpowers. With the break-up of USSR in 1991, it has now become the only superpower.

The Union originally comprised 13 states, to which 7 were added subsequently. Thirty other states, which were formerly territories, were also admitted into the Union as full states, thus making up 50 states in all, apart from the District of Columbia. The following table gives the existing states of the Union with their postal abbreviations, capitals, area and population.

Agriculture: Main crops are maize, wheat, soyabeans, barley, oats rice, sugar, potatoes, cotton, tobacco and dairy products,

Industry: Electronic equipment, machinery, transportation equipment, paper, petroleum products, fertilizers, plastics.

Minerals: Coal, copper, lead, phosphates, uranium, zinc, gold, silver, iron, molybdenum and oil. Oil reserves in USA, the world's second biggest oil producer, are expected to last only 10 years if output continues at the current rate. Exports: Machinery, chemicals, motor vehicles, aircraft, military equipment, grains, cereals.

The US is the only industrial country where large population increases are still projected, largely as the result of immigration. In July 1997, USA conducted its first underground nuclear-related test since the 1992 moratorium. On July 5, US spacecraft "Pathfinder" landed on Mars.

Mission in India:
Embassy of the USA, American Embassy
Chanakyapuri, New Delhi - 110 021, India
Tel: 91 - 11 - 2419 8000
Fax: 91 - 11 - 2419 0017

Foreign commercial Service and Library of Congress
24, Kasturba Gandhi Marg
New Delhi - 110 001
Tel: 91 - 11 - 2331 6841
Email: ndboxmea@state.gov

Tel: 91 - 33 - 2282 3611
Email: pascal@state.gov

Tel: 91 - 44 - 2811 2000
Email: chennaic@state.gov

Tel: 91 - 22 - 2363 3611
Email: webmastermumbai@state.gov

Indian Mission in United States of America (USA):
Embassy of India
2107, Massachusetts Ave
Washington DC 2008
Tel: 00 - 1 - 202 - 9397000
Fax: 00 - 1 - 202 - 2654351
Email: indembwash@indiagov.org

Outlying Territories:

Puerto Rico: (Commonwealth of Puerto Rico); Capital: San Juan; Language: Spanish and English; Religion: Christianity; Currency: Dollar.

The Island of Puerto Rico lies 80 km east of Hispaniola (Haiti and Dominican Republics) in the outer Caribbean. In 1952, it ceased to be a colonial possession and became a free Commonwealth. It has close association with US. People have US citizenship with no voting rights.

From a purely agricultural country, Puerto Rico (formerly Porto Rico) is fast changing to an industrial economy and is the wealthiest Caribbean island. "The Poor house of the Caribbean" was changed to an area with one of the highest standards of living in Latin America, thanks to the famous "Operation Bootstrap" begun in the late 40s.

In a referendum in November 1993, Puerto Ricans said no to total merger with USA. The main crops sugar, tobacco and coffee. Industries include textiles, clothing, cigars, alcohol, chemicals and household appliances. Tourism is n important source of revenue.

Guam: Capital - Agana

Commonwealth of the N. Mariana Island: Capital - Saipan.

American Samoa: Capital - Pago Pago

Other Pacific Territories: Johnston Atoll (Two small islands 1150 km southwest of Hawaii); Midway Islands (Two small islands at the western end of the Hawaiian chain); Wake Island (Three small islands-3700 km west of Hawaii.

Virgin Islands of the United States: Capital - Charlotta Amalie.

View More Countries>>

Useful Links,with tourism flavour

Suggest the websites related to the Tourism In United States of America (USA) to list in our directory. Only the tourism flavoured websites will be accepted.